Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 WHRO Young Storytellers Contest! We received a lot of great stories this year! Our winners were recently celebrated during an online awards ceremony, with awards presented by WHRO's Ms.Martha Reads!

Watch the Awards Ceremony: 

2021 List of Winners:


First Place: Frank DeRego, “The Adventures of Net Man”
Homeschooled, Suffolk

Second Place: Isaac Burns, “Kitty’s Garden”
Great Bridge Presbyterian, Chesapeake

First Grade

First Place: Madison Stacy, “Splash! Splash! Mermaddy”
Corporate Landing Elementary, Virginia Beach

Second Place: Aaria Jain, “Do Not Waste Water”
John B. Dey Elementary, Virginia Beach

Second Grade

First Place: Lucy Gurganus, “The Puppy Pizza Place”
Deer Park Elementary, Newport News

Second Place: Victoria Tickell, “The Bunny Who Saved His Family” Homeschooled, Norfolk

Third Grade

First Place: Aanya Jain, “Recycle Me”
Old Donation School, Virginia Beach

Second Place: Blaine Averett, “Roney the Rover’s Adventure in Space”
Hampton Roads Academy, Newport News

Fourth Grade

First Place: Charlotte Campbell, “What Ever You Can Imagine”
Cape Charles Christian, Cape Charles

Second Place: Josiah Williams, “Nature Helps Timmy To Read”
Homeschooled, Chesapeake

Fifth Grade

First Place: Saniya Hundley-Sweeney, “Saniya and the S-bots”
Carver Elementary, Newport News

Second Place: Isabella Smith, “Robbers of the Sea”
Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Newport News

Overall Environmental Winner for Grades K-2

Eloise Garrison, “Priscilla and the Poacher”
Swift Creek Elementary, Midlothian

Overall Environmental Winners for Grades 3-5 (Two Winners)

Evie Bales, “Earth’s Cardboard Creations”
Kilby Shores Elementary, Suffolk

Zoey Pham, “The Ups and Downs of Earth”
Pembroke Meadows Elementary, Virginia Beach

About the WHRO Young Storytellers Contest
Each year, students in kindergarten through fifth grade write and illustrate stories that are fact, fiction, poetry, or prose. Stories are judged on originality, creative expression, storytelling, and integration of illustrations.

Meet last year's winners.