Virginia elections officials certified results today, making voting tallies official.

Certification typically happens about a week after Election Day. This year was delayed because of a COVID-19 outbreak at the Richmond registrar office, so the Board of Elections couldn’t certify statewide races.

Results come from the Department of Elections, unless otherwise noted.

Here’s the outcome of local and statewide races Hampton Roads voters picked:


President-elect Joe Biden won Virginia by just over 450,000 votes. 

The seven cities in Hampton Roads all voted for Biden. Surrounding counties - with the exception of James City County- largely voted for current President Donald Trump.

On the Eastern Shore, Accomack County picked Trump. Biden won Northampton county by 712 votes.


Incumbents ruled Hampton Roads’ congressional races. Sen. Mark Warner, who represents the entire state, won re-election.

Reps. Elaine Luria, Donald McEachin, Bobby Scott and Rob Wittman kept their seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. Each one represents a part of Tidewater.


Virginians overwhelmingly approved two constitutional amendments. One creates an independent redistricting commission and another gives a personal property tax break to disabled veterans.


In Portsmouth, city councilman Shannon Glover beat four opponents to become mayor. 

Lisa Lucas-Burke kept her seat on City Council. Current school board member De’Andre Barnes won his bid for Council. 

Voters also elected Mark Whitaker, who was on City Council 2015 to 2018. He left office when he was charged and convicted for three felony counts of forgery. Gov. Ralph Northam restored his rights last year, clearing the way for his candidacy.

Ingrid Whitaker, Mark Whitaker's wife, was one of five candidates elected to Portsmouth’s school board. She wasn't involved in his forgery conviction.

Joining Ingrid Whitaker are incumbents LaKeesha Klu Atkinson and Sarah Duncan Hinds. Yolanda Edmunds Thomas and Vernon Tillage will also join the school board.

The city’s casino referendum passed with 66% of the vote, clearing the path for an entertainment complex with a casino, conference center and hotel on Victory Boulevard.


Mayor Bobby Dyer in Virginia Beach held on to his position, beating out former State Treasurer Jody Wagner.

Incumbents also dominated three City Council races and three School Board races.

City council members Rosemary Wilson, Jessica Abbott and Sabrina Wooten all kept their seats. On the school board, Beverly Anderson, Victoria Manning, Jessica Owens and Trenace Riggs kept their seats.

Jennifer Franklin unseated school board member Dan Edwards, making the body fully female.


In Suffolk, longtime mayor Linda Johnson lost her seat to local businessman Mike Duman. 

Incumbents Lue Ward and Roger Fawcett kept seats on City Council. LeOtis Williams, a local businessman known for giving out turkeys during the holidays, also got a seat on Council.

School board incumbents Judith Brooks-Buck, David Mitnick and Phyllis Collier Byrum kept their seats.


Like Portsmouth, more than 60% of Norfolk voters approved a casino referendum. It will allow the Pamunkey Indian Tribe to develop and build a waterfront entertainment center with a casino.


Former state Del. Gordon Helsel was elected Poquoson’s mayor.

City Council incumbents Thomas J. Cannella, Jana Andrews and David Hux kept their seats.


Patricia Smith won mayor of Accomac, along with five named town council members: Thomas Edward Hines, Joyce Metcalf Lewis, Christopher Newman, Steve Troyer and Patricia Hubbard.

According to the Accomack County registrar’s office, Dale Lawrence won the last seat as a write-in.

Charles Wilbur won the mayorship in Melfa. James Wilson and Brian Langley won seats. Daniel Macca, Gregory Spady, David Peffer and Raymond Lewis, Jr. won by write-in votes.

Matt Hart will be mayor in Onley. The town’s council will have Billye Custis, Claudia Harmon, Woody Zember, Bill Ferguson, Brian Corbin and Rose Pierson.

In Bloxom, Thomas Beasley won the mayorship by write-in. No one filed to run.

Three town council representatives won by write-in there, according to the county registrar: James Bagwell, Mary Jimenez and Peter Bourbeau. Other winners were Louella Fox, Samuel Bloxom and Christopher Kreisl.

Connie Campbell won the mayoral race in Painter. James Sturgis, Stephen Hearne, Thomas Willett, Barry Frey, Kim Savage and Eric Harris will fill the Town Council.

Parksley held a special election to fill the town council seat of now-Mayor Frank Russell, who won that seat in May.

Henry Nicholson won the town council race.


Incumbent Kathy Torrence will keep her seat as Isle of Wight County’s Clerk of Court.

Walter Bernacki will represent the Windsor district on the county Board of Supervisors.


Hank Fuller will be part of the Boykins Town Council.

John Barham Carter will join the Newsoms Town Council.


Running on a platform to improve conditions at the two state prisons in the county, Vincent Robertson won the Commonwealth’s Attorney race.