WHRO Public Media has been honored to win several awards recently. From journalism reports and television documentaries to services provided by our WHRO Education team, we are excited to be recognized.

“WHRO Public Media is committed to delivering outstanding content that enriches and educates our community. We are honored by these awards and nominations,” stated Bert Schmidt, president and CEO of WHRO.

Below is a list of our 2024 Awards.

Pictures of the Year International

First Place, Documentary Film Category: "Uprooted"

Education Writers Association Awards

Brandi Kellam, Louis Hansen & Gabriel Sandoval of the 
Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism at WHRO & ProPublica are finalists in the category of Collaborations: All Newsroom Sizes for "Uprooted"

2024 Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award

Series of stories “Uprooted: An Eminent Domain Documentary"
Brandi Kellam, an investigative journalist with the Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism (VCIJ) at WHRO, and Louis Hansen, an editor and investigative journalist at VCIJ.

The Paul Tobenkin Award, named in honor of the late New York Herald Tribune reporter, recognizes outstanding achievements in reporting on racial or religious hatred, intolerance, or discrimination in the United States.

Other contributors to the reporting include former ProPublica research reporter Gabriel Sandoval, Christopher Tyree of Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism at WHRO, and Lisa Riordan Seville and Mauricio Rodríguez Pons, both of ProPublica.

Virginias Associated Press Broadcasters

Radio - Best Continuing News: First Place
Katherine Hafner, "Norfolk's Floodwall Plan"

Radio - Best Sports Feature: First Place
Connor Worley, "MEAC Makes Mark on HBCU Esports With First Championship Tournament"

View past awards: 20232022 | 2021 | 2020